Texturing – UV texture mapping

This is going to be the first of three posts about texture tutorials.

First, I started by setting the path project to GettingStartedMaya2013LessonData \ UVMapping directory which you can download from the official web page link, I ensured that Construction History and Help Line were on and Soft Selection and Interactive Creation were turned off.

After all I was ready to start; I continued with the cracker box shape by following the instructions of its measures, I clicked on Create>Polygons Primitives>Cube> and I set up with the correct parameters as you can see in picture below.

I changed the name of the primitive and placed it on screen changing Translate Y value to 5.

Secondly, I had to texture the mesh, for this purpose I changed the Shading View to Smooth Shade All in order to see the faces of the cracker box. Then I created a new Lambert material called box_material and changed Color attribute to assign a PSD File texture; a PSD file of the cracker box is located into sourceimages directory, it contains all faces of the cracker box, I just selected that file and checked Hardware Texturing on Shading menu to see the box texturized.

As you probably noticed the texture does not fit to mesh.

Next, I changed Maya views to see Texture Editor’s 2D view and I clicked the mesh to see texture in Texture Editor View.

UVs map have not been created so I used the Automatic Mapping tool for that. In perspective view with Polygons selected in combo box I clicked on Create UVs>Automatic Mapping>. The Triplanar projection is the best choice to produce the UV map of the cracker box so I set 3 planes and 2 Percentage Space and I clicked on Project button.

UVs Maps have been created and I can saw on Texture Editor how Maya has divided each face of the box.

I was finishing my first shape texturized and I had to match the texture with the UV map.

I sewed each face selecting edges on the perspective view and clicking on Polygons>Move and Sew UV Edges. I repeated the process for each edges of the frontal box face (I turned off Display Image to recognize the edges selected).

At this moment I had two shells of UV maps needed to be placed, I could identify them by clicking on next button

To select one shell I clicked on one vertex of the UV, then I pressed Ctrl key and right mouse button and clicked on To Shell, it selected all shell as the picture below.

Before moving any shell I had to change one parameter into Tool>Move UV Shell Tool>, I turned off Prevent overlap to give free movement to each UV shell.

After that I dragged yellow and red arrows to place the UV shell into the displayed texture image.

I did the same for the remaining shell after using Rotate Tool to place it in the correct orientation

Well, I finished the cracker box!

It was an easy process but I think I never taste a product which specifies vitamins S, O and N in the nutrition information, are completely invented 🙂

Jokes apart, it was an interesting tutorial, the battle of textures continues…

Leave a Reply

